top of page
Search
  • 7.5/10

The Impossible Fortress (Jason Rekulak)


It's 1987, the dawn of the internet age, and Billy Marvin is right on the ball. Armed with his computer, Billy is ready to take on the new era as a computer programmer. There's just the slight problem that he is failing the lowest remedial classes in the ninth grade. Billy is desperately searching for a solution, and when he and his friends cook up a plot to get rich by stealing magazines from a local store, he stumbles upon Mary Zelinsky, and learns of the nationwide video game contest that just might buy him his future. But then again, there's Mary Zelinsky.

This book is fresh, funny and sweet, and that alone makes it an enjoyable read. But look a little closer and you'll find mature themes, hard questions and an earnestly written story about falling in love and growing up.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Between Shades of Gray (Ruta Sepetys)

Hi all! I don't normally include books I've read for school on this blog, but this book was absolutely incredible and I never would've read it had I not had to, so I wanted to review it! Between Shade

We Are Okay (Nina LaCour)

I've always been a sucker for emotional development over plot. I love Studio Ghibli movies for this reason, they're a lot slower and more in depth and you truly get to know the characters. This book h

King of Scars (Leigh Bardugo)

I'm back and better than ever with more Leigh Bardugo! After finishing Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, I literally could not wait to get my hands on more of her writing. King of Scars is about 400 p

bottom of page