top of page
Search
  • 6/10

Cheesus Was Here (J.C Davis)


This book was a last minute find at Barnes and Noble, I saw it on the bottom shelf and decided to take it home. I finished it in one afternoon.

The book takes place in the tiny and super religious town of Clemency, Texas, and it's narrated by a teenage girl named Delaney. Nothing happens in Clemency except Church, which Delaney isn't interested in since she lost her younger sister. But everything changes when her coworker finds the image of Baby Jesus on a cheese wheel. At first, she thinks it's nothing but then religious relics start popping up all over town. Late Night Shows take notice, and soon the whole country is flocking to Clemency. But is it all real or just a hoax?

I would give this book a 6/10. The plot was really unique and interesting, but the whole time I was reading it I felt like I was being talked down to. It was most likely written for a younger audience. Overall, it was enjoyable to read but underwhelming nonetheless.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Between Shades of Gray (Ruta Sepetys)

Hi all! I don't normally include books I've read for school on this blog, but this book was absolutely incredible and I never would've read it had I not had to, so I wanted to review it! Between Shade

We Are Okay (Nina LaCour)

I've always been a sucker for emotional development over plot. I love Studio Ghibli movies for this reason, they're a lot slower and more in depth and you truly get to know the characters. This book h

King of Scars (Leigh Bardugo)

I'm back and better than ever with more Leigh Bardugo! After finishing Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, I literally could not wait to get my hands on more of her writing. King of Scars is about 400 p

bottom of page