top of page
Search
  • 10/10

All The Light We Cannot See (Anthony Doerr)


I listened to this on audiobook when I was a fairly young child. I hated it. However, as I got older it looked a lot more appealing, so I finally read it. Oh man. I have never really felt the whole "books let you into another world" thing until I read this book. It is so beautifully written and such a visual expirience. The characters are real and so unique and so well crafted that after a while you start to forget that they are fictional.

This book follows two children growing up during World War II. Marie-Laure is a blind girl who lives in Paris with her father, a locksmith for the Natural History Museum. Werner Pfennig lives with his sister in an orphanage in Germany. As the books go on, their stories grow closer and closer.

Like I said in my review of I Am The Messenger (you should totally go check that one out!) If you like The Book Thief, this book is a must read. Even if you don't, read it. You won't be let down.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Between Shades of Gray (Ruta Sepetys)

Hi all! I don't normally include books I've read for school on this blog, but this book was absolutely incredible and I never would've read it had I not had to, so I wanted to review it! Between Shade

We Are Okay (Nina LaCour)

I've always been a sucker for emotional development over plot. I love Studio Ghibli movies for this reason, they're a lot slower and more in depth and you truly get to know the characters. This book h

King of Scars (Leigh Bardugo)

I'm back and better than ever with more Leigh Bardugo! After finishing Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, I literally could not wait to get my hands on more of her writing. King of Scars is about 400 p

bottom of page