top of page
Search
  • 9/10

I Am The Messenger (Markus Zusak)


I was expecting a lot from this book, considering it was written by the same guy who wrote The Book Thief. I didn't quite get the same style of book I was expecting for, but this book blew me away in a totally different fashion. It is about a cab driver named Ed, who considers himself a total deadbeat, he is stuck in the same town he grew up in, has a coffee addicted dog, and has fallen hard for his friend. Suddenly, he starts getting these playing cards with names, addresses and other clues for people he has to help. For the first time, he feels like he has purpose, but he still has to figure out who is behind these cards.

If you are looking for a book similar to The Book Thief, this book is not for you. (However, you may want to read All The Light We Cannot See, which I'll review next!) But this book is a phenomenal read. It gets very emotional. (There were more than 10 parts that made me bawl my eyes out) But it is funny and serious and deep and lighthearted all at the same time, all wrapped up in an emotional and intriguing storyline. Seriously, it may not be anything like The Book Thief, but read this book.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Between Shades of Gray (Ruta Sepetys)

Hi all! I don't normally include books I've read for school on this blog, but this book was absolutely incredible and I never would've read it had I not had to, so I wanted to review it! Between Shade

We Are Okay (Nina LaCour)

I've always been a sucker for emotional development over plot. I love Studio Ghibli movies for this reason, they're a lot slower and more in depth and you truly get to know the characters. This book h

King of Scars (Leigh Bardugo)

I'm back and better than ever with more Leigh Bardugo! After finishing Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, I literally could not wait to get my hands on more of her writing. King of Scars is about 400 p

bottom of page